My Pin Collection–Walt Disney and Mickey Edition

“I only hope that we never lose sight of one thing–that it was all started by a mouse.”

If you’re a Disney fan, chances are this quote gives you chills. In 2009, when I started building my pin collection during that fateful first visit, I kept this in mind as I bought this beautiful pin:


That idea of “it all started with a mouse” can help remind us that big ideas can come from the tiniest spark of inspiration. It reminds us that the littlest moment can mean so much, and it also reminds us that a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

I am so sappy. But I think sappy can be very true.

Do you think Walt knew what was in store when he doodled Mickey (and almost named him Mortimer?!)? Mickey was just an idea that Walt drew onto a measly piece of paper. One idea. One moment taken place within a matter of mere seconds.

Now, just under one hundred years later, The Walt Disney Company continues to entertain and inspire the world. Every time I turn on ABC or ESPN, I think, “Disney owns this.” Every time I go to Wal-Mart or the same sort of store and see Disney merchandise, it reminds me of the  accessibility of Disney characters and the universality of the stories. Every single kid (and adult, for that matter) knows who Mickey Mouse is.

It all began with one man. One mouse.

This pin captures the very essence of Disney nostalgia, and because of its classic perfection I just had to have it. When I’m feeling tired of waiting for the future to happen, I can just remind myself (with the help of this pin) to take it easy, to give my mind a break–it all starts with one moment, one idea. Until then, you just have to keep going along whatever path you have decided to take and try the very best you can.

I hope everyone has a magical day! Just keep doing you, and, maybe one day, you’ll think up your own sort of mouse.

Leave a comment